Why I love modern Sonic games

More recently Sonic games have been getting a bad reputation, this has been ever since Sonic sped out from his 2D adventures and into a proper third dimension. It seems in a few peoples minds Sonic is not a character that can be good in the 3D territory. I would argue myself though that Sonic has actually never been better and the transition from 2D to 3D was the best move Sega could have ever made. I will say in my view not all the games have been the best namely mentioning Sonic Unleashed and Sonic and the Secret Rings but a good portion of the games have never been better.

I am not a fan of the original games, I find them boring and monotonous. Don’t let that make you think I am just being harsh on the classic games because I am not, it is just merely my opinion and thoughts.

The 3D Sonic games have so many ideas presented in them that it is hard not to be interested and in my opinion love much of what the games present. Of the 3D Sonic games Sonic Heroes and Sonic and the Black Knight are two of my particular favourites that had some very interesting ideas that led to my initial love of the Sonic games. In Sonic Heroes I was a big fan of the three different character idea allowing for prefered playstyles to be accessible throughout most levels. I also really enjoyed the ideas presented by the four playthroughs you could do with the game. Each of the different character groups had different styles throughout the levels allowing for a variety of different people of different skills to be able to succeed in the game with it being fully accessible.

Likewise Sonic and the Black Knight and Sonic Colours each contained a similar idea and were quite enjoyable to play through. The idea of using the medieval ages in Sonic and the Black Knight was quite exciting and told a story that would otherwise be impossible to tell in a 2D platformer and in the end that is what it comes down to that the games tell a story that couldn’t be told in a 2D platformer and in a similar way the gameplay and ideas expressed in the modern Sonic Games make the game what it is and that is what I like, the games have ideas and things that can’t be done in one of the original games.

It for this reason I love modern Sonic, what do you think?

2 thoughts on “Why I love modern Sonic games

  1. It was hard to find your page in google. I found it on 13 position, you
    should build a lot of quality backlinks , it will help you to increase traffic.
    I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo tips

Leave a Reply

